Last Updated: 1 May, 2015


The Department of Education in Science and Mathematics (DESM) is a think-tank for Education in Science, Mathematics, Environment and Computer Science at the school stage (Upper Primary to Higher Secondary) and is responsible for carrying out research, development, training, evaluation and extension activities in these areas.

The Department carries out researches related to curriculum design, curriculum transaction, teaching-learning strategies and their impact, in Science, Mathematics, Environmental education and Computer Science at the school stage.

DESM also undertakes development of curriculum and curricular materials in Science, Mathematics and Environmental education on the basis of the collected feedback and contemporary changes from time to time. It also develops material for training of teachers and teacher-educators in Science, Mathematics and Environmental education.

The Department organises various training programmes for teachers and teacher-educators in Science, Mathematics and Environmental education.

Another significant area of the Department’s work is Science popularisation through Science Park; Herbal Garden; designing and development of Science and Mathematics laboratories; organization of various activities such as Seminars, Jawaharlal Nehru National Science, Mathematics and Environment Exhibition for Children (JNNSMEE); celebration of Science Day and publication of a quarterly journal “School Science”.

The Department assists and advises the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India and extends its cooperation and expertise to other Departments of NIE as well as other constituents of the NCERT, SCERT’s, State Boards of School Education and other State agencies in matters related to Science, Mathematics and Environmental Education.

The DESM has faculty members from the disciplines of Botany, Zoology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science.

Guidelines for the preparation of Exhibits and Models and Organising exhibitions for SLSMEE 2017-18     English    ||    Hindi


Advisory Board